Stories from the JFP

Relationship.  This is what Jubilee Food Pantry was opened for.  Food is often the conduit for opportunity.

We wanted to share some experiences we have had with some individuals that might give you a better understanding of what happens here, who our guests are, and more specifics on how you can pray for us.

Margarita, or Margo, has been coming to the food pantry since June of last year.  She has become a friend of mine, not because we have a lot in common, but because God wants us to be friends.  I have grown to love her and think of her as family.  She is a single mom of 5 kids, lives in a tiny apartment around the corner from us with 4 of her children, husband/partner (not sure which) left her for another woman last summer, speaks little English, struggles daily with depression, anxiety, and voices in her head, and now works long hours sewing mattresses in Wilsonville.  Margo is caught in a life of strife.  She is poor, with little language skills, on lots of meds and young kids at home.  I see Margarita often (her family was one that took part in the community garden) on Tuesdays and then during the week.  She has grown to trust me and my family- this is big.  Her extended family trusts me- this is also big.  Please pray with us for her and her family, that they would find His Peace, His Love/Power, and His Faithfulness.

Cece (that is not her real name) has been coming to the food pantry for 2 months.  The second time I saw her on a Tuesday, I walked to her car with her and she shared with me that her husband had just left her and her two daughters (1 month old and 3 yrs old).  She was a wreck.  She speaks almost no English and my Spanish is very beginner with that kind of conversation.  I prayed with her and asked her how we could help more, she said “diapers”.  We supplied.  And she continues to come every week, for diapers, relationship, prayer and someone to listen.  As far as I can understand, she just found out that her husband is in Florida with another woman and has asked her to sign divorce papers.  Her heart is broken, angry, confused and so sad for her daughters who are confused as well.  Please pray that she would know our Father more and more each time we meet no matter what language is spoken.  Pray that Andy and I would not take these burdens on ourselves, rather, we would hand them to Jesus each time.

Al has been regularly coming to food pantry since last summer.  We have grown to love him.  He is a white, English speaking man (minority in our parts ;)) and lives in a very old house in the middle of town.  He is quiet, soft-spoken, and down-trodden.  His marriage has suffered many ups and downs.  He heats his house with scrap wood- whatever he can find, and struggles to make ends meet.  He is constantly thanking Andy and I for our generosity and always wants to make sure we know he doesn’t want to take advantage of us.  Him and I had a sweet moment one day in the middle of him grabbing food off the shelves.  He started crying big crocodile tears as I prayed for him. Ever since, he always says how much that meant to him, as well as how much God is good to him.  Pray for Al that He would know that he is KNOWN and free.

Bernadina has been coming since last winter.  She is a spicy character that has kept us on our toes.  Her grabby hands and intense fear and/or entitlement requires of us loving and consistent reminders that we will have more than enough if we each take what is offered.  She, as well as a few others, fear scarcity.  And this keeps me in check with myself as I speak these reminders to her.  We have more than enough, do not fear.  Pray for her, that her heart would be put at ease and the Holy Spirit would be able to speak Truth to her and that she would be able to see in a new way.

There are so many people….I could go on for a long time.  If you have read this whole thing, bless you!  Thank you for taking a few minutes to read about some of our friends and neighbors.  This relationship thing Jesus called us to can get messy, confusing, and just plain hard sometimes, but it is also a GREAT joy when you can push through with Him to see the beauty He brings with it.

4 Responses

  1. WE love you and the work that you both do. We will be praying for your friends and you too.

  2. Love getting a glimpse at real life living for you. Thanks for taking the time to invite us into the pantry with you! Love you and miss you dearly. 🙂

  3. This is beautiful! Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’…‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’ (Matthew 25:34-36, 40 NKJV)

  4. Of course I read the whole thing and it is a blessing indeed to know that you are working in this capacity and that God is using you as a conduit of love to so many who desperately need to experience love.

Leave a Reply

