A New Thing

I believe God is all about creating new things out of old, not better, or refurbished things, new things. I however, cannot do this.  It is an inconceivable thought to me.  Making something old into new?  That is impossible.

But we all know or have heard that, “With God, all things are possible.”  Matt. 19:26

See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.  Isaiah 43:19

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!  2 Cor. 5:17

You have heard these things; look at them all. Will you not admit them? “From now on I will tell you of new things, of hidden things unknown to you.  Isaiah 48:6

Then Moses raised his arm and struck the rock twice with his staff. Water gushed out, and the community and their livestock drank.  Numbers 20:11

I know and am confident that God is doing a new thing in Hubbard, OR.  I am seeing it in my garage, through pastors of local churches in this area, in my children, on my street, and in me.  He is creating something new out of something old.

And honestly, it feels uncomfortable and awkward sometimes, more often than not.

The old feels comfortable and easy to be with.   When I am sitting with my Hispanic lady friends who have a different language and different culture than I do, my old self wants to get up and walk away because I feel fidgety and not sure what to say.  My old self wants to get up, go in the house, and read a book on my comfy sofa.  But my new self knows something….the comfy sofa and book will not satisfy. Now that I have tasted and seen what is Good, I am compelled to push through to find out what lies beyond.

When we live in Spirit and Truth, we will have many moments of awkwardness.  Awkwardness is real and it is okay.  We must walk through these moments so that He can renew our minds, so that they are in line with what He has done in us.  I am a new creation, but I am not really going to know this unless I walk it out, with Him holding my hand.  Our freedom lies just beyond the pain and awkwardness.

At the Jubilee Food Pantry, miracles happen all the time.  Our guests come not only to receive but to give as well, helping with translation, food, and their time.  High school students come willingly and regularly to help and hang out.  Neighbors are dropping food off randomly and taking their time to join in our efforts.  Friendships are beginning, names are being remembered, the picture mural is growing, and more than enough food is provided EVERY week.

But all of these things have not happened without some awkwardness and pain.  But when we know the truth of what He has done in us, we know that Life comes out of death, Light comes out of darkness, Spring always comes after winter, and His strength lies in our weakness.  We know that we don’t have to back off if we feel scared because we KNOW that He is doing a new thing and with God all things are possible!

As a sister and brother in Christ, we encourage you to walk in a little bit of awkwardness this week, for the sake of what He has done and for the sake of His Kingdom.

4 Responses

  1. Yep. I totally identify. Living in that awkwardness currently as I learn the ropes of retail. But it is also about new relationships and being a part of a different “world”. Trying to be open.

  2. Gotta love that “newness”!! Or else we’ll hate it, haha!

  3. Serenity,

    This post was so well said that I found myself drinking in every word as fast as I could. Even though we encounter different circumstances it is the same path of emotions and thoughts that we all face and you encapsulated it all so well. No longer do I feel that my awkwardness and pain is a bad sign, I see now that it is what is required in breaking through to the other side. Thank you for being so transparent in bringing me this truth.

    Big hugs.
    Lori

  4. I LOVE this word Serenity. It has served to encourage me in my own awkwardness in pushing through to ALL that God has for us. Do I feel awkward or comfortable – my new gauge to determine which kingdom I am spending my time in … my own or God’s. Counting it all joy – Shelly

Leave a Reply

